Tournament win for JV Sharks

The Malibu High School Junior Varsity waterpolo team won the Westlake Invitational Tournament for the third consecutive year this last weekend.

On their road to the championship, the Sharks downed Westlake, Newbury Park, Crescenta Valley and Agoura high schools.

Losing by a score of 3-2 with less than three minutes to go in the fourth quarter of the championship game against a tough Agoura team, the Sharks rallied back and came away with a 5-4 victory to win it all.

Sean Oneill was named the tournament Most Valuable Player (out of more than 150 athletes), while Shark teammates Bennett Sherman and Jared Weinstock joined him on the all-tournament team. Other members of the JV squad (all freshman and sophomores) are Reed Farrer, Alex Donner, Damien Minicucci, Billy Laubender, Jon Cook, Blake Hubbell, Peter Schulam, Jackson Hathorn, Willy Forsyth, Taylor Goss, Joe Sloggy and coach Evan Perlmutter.

The JV Sharks raised their season record to 13-2 overall (2-0 in league).

The Malibu Times is the first newspaper in Malibu, serving the community since 1946.

Related Articles



Latest Articles

%d bloggers like this: