Recognizing great teachers

From left: Optimist Phil Gajic, Margo Dunn (Point Dume Marine Science Elementary School), Judith Nelson (Our Lady of Malibu), Laurel Thorne (Juan Cabrillo), Nancy Schellkopf (Malibu High School), Optimist Club President Anne Payne, Optimist and Santa Monica Malibu Unified School District Board member Kathy Wisnicki, Les Bennett (Malibu High School) and Optimist and SMMUSD Assistant Superintendent Mike Matthews. Not pictured but honored, Jessica Hernandez (Webster).

The Malibu Optimist Club and Geoffrey’s Restaurant recently conducted their second annual Excellence in Education Awards program honoring six outstanding teachers from Malibu schools.

The teachers were selected by their peers for their dedication and excellence in the field of teaching. The teachers received accolades from the Optimist Club as true “friends of youth.”

Santa Monica-Malibu Unified School District Assistant Superintendent Mike Matthews served as the master of ceremonies. He presented each teacher with the awards that also included a $100 gift certificate from Geoffrey’s.