AMPS Announces New Board of Directors, Goals

Pictured, from left: new AMPS Board President Kathryn Alice, Jessica Isles and past presidents Karen Farrer and Christy Hovest at Malibu Fiesta

With the start of the new school year, Advocates for Malibu Public Schools (AMPS) announced its new board of directors on Aug. 21.

The positions are as follows:

  • President — Kathryn Alice
  • Executive Vice Presidents — Nora Cohen and Manel Sweetmore
  • Secretary — Christy Hovest
  • Treasurer — Bessie Zhang
  • Assistant Treasurer — Jerel Taylor

Other board members include Carl Randall, Melanie Goudzwaard, Michelle Kahen-Delrahim, Stacy Rouse and Roui Israel.

The group’s primary goals include getting the upcoming school bond passed, following up on school separation and advocating for education.

“We are 80 percent there in this process of gaining our own Malibu Unified School District and separating from Santa Monica. We’ve gotten over the hump. But there is still work to be done to reach this goal, and we’re committed to staying the course,” Alice said, in an email from AMPS.

As part of its campaign to educate Malibuites, AMPS will be hosting a series of events throughout the year. The first will be a town hall meeting to discuss the aforementioned issues on Sept. 12 at 7 p.m. at Malibu City Hall. Santa Monica-Malibu Unified School District Superintendent Dr. Ben Drati and School Board Member Craig Foster (Malibu’s only representation on school board) will be in attendance. All are welcome to attend.