SMMUSD Elects New Board of Education Officers

The Santa Monica-Malibu Unified School District announced the election of its 2016 officers at its annual organization meeting on Dec. 10. Laurie Lieberman was re-elected as President and Ralph Mechur was elected Vice President of the SMMUSD’s seven-member board, which also includes Dr. Jose Escarce, Maria Leon-Vazquez, Oscar La Torre, Craig Foster and Dr. Richard Tahvildaran-Jesswein.

The Board also elected certain members to represent SMMUSD on other committees. Tahvildaran-Jesswein will serve as the representative to the Los Angeles County School Trustees Association. Foster will serve as a voting representative to the Los Angeles County Committee on School District Organization and was nominated for the California School Board Association Delegate Assembly.

“We are fortunate to have seven dedicated elected officials serving our community,” Superintendent Sandra Lyon said in a statement provided by the SMMUSD. “Ms. Lieberman and Mr. Mechur will provide excellent leadership this coming year as we embark on numerous initiatives including our equity review, technology installations and facility improvements.”

New members will begin their positions immediately and serve until the Dec. 2016 organization meeting.

Related Articles



Latest Articles

%d bloggers like this: