2014 Dolphin Award Nominations Sought

The Malibu Times held a ceremony honoring the 2013 Dolphin Award winners on Saturday at the Malibu West Beach Club. From left: County Supervisor Zev Yaroslavsky, longtime community volunteer John Paola, dedicated parents Michael and Kim Bonewitz, Dun & Bradstreet CEO Jeff Stibel, PCH safety advocate Michel Shane, community organizer Steven Grahek, PCH safety/education activist Ellen Shane, Youth Dolphin winner Gabriella Grahek, cancer research fundraiser Dick Gary, Yaroslavsky field deputy Susan Nissman, cancer research fundraiser Elsa Gary and utility pole safety activist Hans Laetz. 

Nominations are being sought for the annual Malibu Times Citizens of the Year Dolphin Awards. 

The purpose of the Dolphin Awards program is to recognize outstanding efforts of individual Malibu citizens and, by acknowledging and publicizing their contributions, inspire others. 

Readers are invited to submit nominees worthy of being considered for a Dolphin Award, individuals who have made outstanding contributions to improving one or more aspects of Malibu’s community life. 

Dolphins are a very diverse group. Some Dolphins may have many years of achievement; others have only recently found an important way to serve. Some have been involved in multiple activities; others have focused on one or two. Some are business professionals, politicians or educators, while still others are retirees, retailers, restaurateurs, homemakers or students. Their interests are as diverse as they are and range from environmental protection to wildlife rescue to education, literacy, the arts, health and safety, teen programs… the list goes on and on. 

To submit a nominee, write at least 300 words describing your nominee’s contribution and why you think that person should be considered. 

Please include enough information (several paragraphs at least) for the editorial/publishers board to be able to make an informed decision. 

The deadline is Jan. 31. 

Be sure to include his/her contact information. Mail or email to agyork@malibutimes.com and melissa@malibutimes.com; 3864 Las Flores Canyon Rd., Malibu, CA 90265.