Double champions

Front row from left: Mason Alford, Jackson Fein, Sage Staun Snider, Christian Johnson, Jordan Simon and Evan Anthony; back row from left: Coach David Markun, Jacob Oronoz, Wynn Jacobsen-Galan, Spencer Wakefield, Riley Anapol, Walker Gareri, Adam Markun, Ryan Gallagher and manager Gene Fein.

The Malibu Pony Red Sox won the regular season title and the post-season Presidents Tournament championship. Teams from Agoura, Camarillo, Newbury Park and Westlake competed in the league.

It is the first time in at least 12 years that Malibu has won the Pony championship in the 13-15-years-old age group. The Malibu Red Sox won 21 consecutive games and finished the season with a record of 21-1. The final game was a 14-4 victory over the Agoura Dodgers in the Presidents Tournament championship.

The team averaged more than 10 runs per game while giving up just 2.5 runs. Seven players hit over .500 on the season, including Christian Johnson, Sage Staun Snider, Jackson Fein, Evan Anthony, Riley Anapol, Adam Markun and Jordan Simon. Pitcher Christian Johnson did not allow an earned run all season and he combined on a no hitter with Sage Staun-Snider, who led the team with 6 home runs.

“It was an honor to coach these young men, not just because they are incredibly talented ball players, but because they were great teammates to each other, eager to learn as well as being very bright and engaging individuals,” said manager Gene Fein. “It will be fun to see what these guys accomplish in the future.”