Five Consider City Council Runs

City Council candidates John Sibert, Andy Lyon, Hans Laetz, Skylar Peak, Hamish Patterson, Missy Zeitsoff and Joan House answered questions regarding a number of Malibu issues, ranging from the Malibu Lagoon Project to safety on Pacific Coast Highway, during a candidate forum in February 2012 at City Hall.

With the April 2014 municipal elections less than four months away, five candidates have taken out nomination packets for Malibu City Council, indicating interest in running for the city’s governing body.

They include current council members Lou La Monte and Laura Rosenthal, as well as Malibu residents Andy Lyon, Hamish Patterson and June Louks, according to a notice released by the City of Malibu Monday.

La Monte and Rosenthal are both up for re-election after serving four-year terms. Patterson and Lyon ran in the 2012 election, receiving 748 and 694 votes, respectively. Louks is a newcomer to city politics who is active in the Malibu Agricultural Society, a group that advocates for natural gardening practices and has advocated for the removal of herbicides and pesticides in local stores.

More candidates are expected to file for nomination papers as the April 8 election approaches.