SMMUSD Holds Annual Board Officers Election

Co-interim Superintendent Dr. Chris King conducting the oath of office for Jon Kean (left), Maria Leon-Vazquez and Ralph Mechur.

The Santa Monica-Malibu Unified School District held its annual election of new Board of Education officers Thursday, Dec. 15. A 7-0 vote re-elected School Board President Laurie Lieberman and Vice President Dr. Richard Tahvildarin-Jesswein for their third year. 

Returning school board members Maria Leon-Vazquez and Ralph Mechur, as well as new member Jon Kean, took the oath of office for their four-year terms.

The board also recognized co-interim superintendents Dr. Chris King and Dr. Sylvia Rousseau for their hard work over the past six months as SMMUSD searched for a permanent superintendent — Dr. Ben Drati, who will begin his term Jan. 1, 2017.