Notable inductees

Barbra Streisand

Composers Irving Berlin and Leonard Bernstein, Malibu actress Barbra Streisand and director/producer Steven Spielberg have been voted as initial inductees of the National Museum of American Jewish History’s Hall of Fame to be established in the Philadephia institution’s Only in America Gallery. Official induction of the honorees will occur when the museum opens in November of 2010.

The international public voting was conducted during a one month period this summer with more then 209,000 voters from 56 countries selecting the first 18 honorees from a list of 218 possible candidates drawn from the 350 year history of Jews in America, according to Dr. Josh Perelman, the deputy director of programming and chief curator of the exhibition.

Among the 18 inductees are Albert Einstein, Golda Meir and Supreme Court Associate Justice Louis Brandeis.

More information can be obtained online at