Dolphin Awards 2007

Dear Friends,

This is the time of year Arnold and I begin planning for the annual Malibu Times Citizens of the Year Dolphin Awards. The purpose of the Dolphin Awards program is to recognize outstanding efforts of individual Malibu citizens and, by acknowledging and publicizing their contributions, inspire others.

You are invited to help us develop a list of nominees worthy of being considered for a Dolphin Award: individuals who have made outstanding contributions to improving one or more aspects of Malibu’s community life.

Dolphins are a very diverse group. Some Dolphins may have many years of achievement; others have only recently found an important way to serve. Some have been involved in multiple activities; others have focused on one or two. Some are business professionals, politicians or educators, while still others are retirees, retailers, restaurateurs, homemakers or students. Their interests are as diverse as they are and range from environmental protection to wildlife rescue to education, literacy, the arts, health and safety, teen programs … the list goes on and on. The point is, we want you to look around-all around-and identify those individuals deserving of recognition and tell us who they are.

In a small community like ours we are always amazed at the number of worthy nominees who surface each year and how we must struggle to limit our selection. Be assured that careful consideration will be given to each nominee. And, if your nominee isn’t selected this year, we will retain the information for consideration next year.

To tell us who you think should be a Malibu Times Citizen of the Year, just write us describing your nominee’s contribution and why you think they should be considered. Please include enough information (several paragraphs at least) for us to be able to make an informed decision. Be sure to include his/her contact information. Mail or e-mail it to us by Jan. 10 (; 3864 Las Flores Canyon Rd., Malibu, CA 90265).


Most sincerely,

Karen and Arnold York

Publishers, The Malibu Times

Dolphin Winners 1990-2006


Caggiano, Mike

Keller, Walt

Merrick, Judge John

Sheridan, Monsignor John

Van Horn, Carolyn

Wan, Larry & Sara

Zeitsoff, Missy

Mauro, Capt. Don

Cairns, Pat

Edmiston, Joe

Harris, Dr. Jeff

Reynolds, Dr. Susan

Vogler, Maggie


Bloomfield, Ron

Fulton, Ann

Hope, Bob

Jennings, Jeff

Pepperdine Volunteers

Radefield, Paul

Russell, Sandy

Templeman, Reeves & Reta


Banducci, Sandi

Baskin, Harvey

Bateman, Dr. Scott

Benatar, Pat

Blackwood, Mary Lou

Chesterfield, Richard

Crummer, Roy

Demby, Beryl

Frampton, Mary

Keller, Lucile

L.A. Co. Lifeguards

L.A. Co. Fire

L.A. Co. Sheriffs

Weisman, Fred R.

Wolpert, Russ


Barrett, Diane

Brosnan, Pierce

Cooper, Marty

Goldman, Ron

Kouba, Matt

Lemond, Rob

Schlossberg, Carl

Shapiro, Renny

Taki, Beverly

Worth, Rev. David

York, Arnold & Karen


Cameron, Barbara

Charlie Brown’s Malibu Sea Lion

D’Angelo, Maria

Dobyns, Tom

Friends of the Malibu Library

Hove, Faye

Kamath, Mary Kaye

Moore, Lt. Mike

Ryan, Pat

Wagner, Wende


Willson, Shirley

Pierson, Lt. Jim

Spanier, Howard

O’Brien, Doug

Kennedy, Ben

Drobnick, Lou

Hays, Gretchen

Herson, Rabbi Benjamin

Kilday, Ruth Taylor

Loo, Mona


Fakehany, Tom

Foster, David

Jarvis, JoAnna

Kramer, Jeff

Matthews, Mike

Payne, Anne

Stevens, Agnes

Konheim, Lyn & Perenchio, John


Cott, Phil

Glass, Betty

Grisanti, Sara

Yarnell, Kathryn

O’Connor, Terry

Soloway, Natalie

Dmytryk, Rebecca

Marowitz, Charles

Coatsworth, Honey

Ford, Lee

Hayes, Ronn

Peacock, Rev. Larry


Baldwin, Diane

Ball, Mark

Harlow, John

Maginnis, Jeanette

Stotsenberg, Ed & Dorothy

Sunderland, Maud-Ann

Stern, Laure

Spooner, Paul

Swerman, Jannis

Goldschneider, Alan


Barsocchini, Barbara

Curtis, Lisa & Bill

Hammond, Beverly

Himmelfarb, Doug

Ravaglioli, Steven & Lockrem, Bonnie

Reynolds, Kristin

Schultz, Jack

Winger, Nidra

Zakian, Michael


Barovsky, Harry

Brown, Leland, Fire Capt.

Estill, Wayne & Beverly

Fogg, Jo

Hoffman, Ann

Roney, Deirdre

Sills, Laureen

Malibu Association of Contractors


Armstrong, Bill & Virginia

Cornucopia Farms

Cox, Shelley

Hart, Robert (Bob)

Hasse, Tom

Meckler, Zane

Zahn Rosenthal, Laura

Stoker, Dermot

Yorkin, Peg


Emerson, Allen, Arson Watch

Baylin, Sherman

Furguson, Ann

Katz, David, Malibu Film Festival

Legaspi III, David

Matlow, Marlene

Silna, Ozzie


Adamson House / Lagoon Museum


Dillon, Carol

Eisenberg, Helene

Greenwood, Pat

Lawrence, Lilly

Malibu Kiwanis Club

Robinson, Scott

St. John’s Hospital

Seymour, Jane

Wisnicki, Kathy


Bridgeman, Jacqueline

Davis, Rich

House, Joan

Johnson, Lea and Leon

Leoni, Téa

Randall, Carol

Walraven, Wes

Ettenger and Welch Families


DeJoria, John Paul and Eloise

Gabbard, Kay

Giese, Jo

Latta, Shari

Lyons, David and Tallal, Scott

Malibu Legacy Park Project

Solis, Dede

Soboroff, Steve and Koss, Richard Green and Michael


Anthony, Peter and Elizabeth, & La Gorce Kramer, Deborah

Bowen, Candace

Brosnan Shaye, Keely

Kim, Chi

Kmiec, Carol & Duke Mitze, Marnie

Klein, Bob

Linke, Cindy

Reiss, Bonnie

Shraibati, Tarek

Previous articlePink pride
Next articlePartying for safety
The Malibu Times is the first newspaper in Malibu, serving the community since 1946.

Related Articles





Latest Articles


%d bloggers like this: