Local clubs hand out scholarships


    Woman’s Club honors youthful scholars

    The Malibu Woman’s Club recently awarded 15 scholarships to high school seniors for academic achievement, extra-curricular activities, community service, employment and general fitness as exemplified in an autobiographical statement or personal essay.

    Additionally, 26 fifth-grade students from the local elementary schools were given scholarships based on an essay contest. The students wrote essays as a class project on the subject “Laughter is the Best Medicine.”

    The Woman’s Club hosted the luncheon event at Duke’s Malibu.

    Juan Cabrillo Elementary School

    Fifth-grade awards

    Class of Ms. Glass:

    3rd Place: Niall Velasquez

    2nd Place: Nelson Vello

    1st Place: Shelby Snedden

    Class of Mrs. Lynch & Mrs. Farlow

    Special Honorary Award: Emily Foster-Ducote

    3rd Place: Kate Mahon

    2nd Place: Parker Smith

    1st Place: Kate Meyer

    Class of Mr. Ledoux

    3rd Place: Helen Cannon

    2nd Place: Katie Rollins

    1st Place: Alex Greenberg

    Point Dume Marine Science Elementary School

    Class of Ms. Kelly Matthews

    3rd Place: Sascha Crescentini

    2nd Place: Peter Botz

    1st Place: Danee Schiffer

    Our Lady of Malibu School

    Class of Mr. Andrew Matthews

    3rd Place: Max Rockow

    2nd Place: Lucy Keifer

    1st Place: Dan Rowan

    Webster Elementary School

    Class of Ms. Jochims

    3rd Place: Rebecca Pollard & Vito Paparella

    2nd Place: Mike Buchauer

    1st Place: Amy Calfas

    Class of Mrs. Winokur

    3rd Place: Kendall Follert

    2nd Place: Megan Helfend

    1st Place: Christie Brydon

    Class of Mrs. Poole

    3rd Place: Carle Peterson

    2nd Place: Brianne Horner

    1st Place: Sarah Zweig

    Senior award winners

    (listed alphabetically)

    Adam Androlia MHS

    Nicole Baltrushes MHS

    Christian Banks Loyola High School

    Perrie Briskin MHS

    Emily KellardCrossroads High School

    Andrew Matlow MHS

    Lukas Mehring MHS

    Kristina Milne MHS

    Emily Ochmanek MHS

    Brittany Parkin MHS

    Briana Roven MHS

    Jenna Shepcaro MHS

    Dougley (Chip) Stewart Viewpoint School

    Doug Daniel Stewart MHS

    Timothy Yuki Santa Monica High School

    Lions Club scholarships

    On May 19, the Malibu Lions hosted a luncheon at the estate of Phil and Ruth Elwell for the recipients of its 2002 Scholarships, awarded to seven Malibu seniors. This is the seventh year the Malibu Lions Club has presented scholarship awards to Malibu students.

    Malibu Lions Club scholarships recipients are: Tina Ferris, Sally Mills Elizabeth Jane Cole, Tami Rollins, Lukas Mehring, Luke Beck and Nicole Baltrushes.

    The Malibu Lions’ annual fundraiser is a Flea Market, which will take place on Sept. 29. For more information please call 818.706.0233.

    Pepperdine students awarded Fulbright Scholarships

    Seaver College senior Michael Wood and School of Law graduate Jordon Gimbel have become the first two Pepperdine University students to receive the prestigious Fulbright Scholarships in the same year.

    Wood is majoring in economics and international studies. He will take his final class in Russia this summer prior to going to Cote d’Ivoire on Africa’s Ivory Coast. Gimbel will use his scholarship to study intellectual property laws and regulations in Sweden.